Giramondo Publishing

The Giramondo Publishing Company was set up in December 1995 with the aim of publishing quality creative and interpretive writing by Australian authors. It seeks to encourage innovative and adventurous literary work that might not otherwise find publication because of its subtle commercial appeal; to stimulate exchange between Australian writers and readers and their counterparts overseas; and to build a common ground between the academy and the marketplace.

Initially these aims were expressed through the publication of the book-length literary journal HEAT, which went into a second series, and appeared three times a year. HEAT has a national and international reputation as a showcase for contemporary writing from Australia, and from overseas, often in translation.

In 2002 the Giramondo Publishing Company began the publication of literary works by individual authors in its Giramondo book imprint. Many of these titles have won major Australian literary prizes, including the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Prime Minister’s Literary Award, the Nita B Kibble Award and the various state Premier’s Awards. Giramondo authors include poets Judith Beveridge, Michael Farrell, Lucy Dougan, Bonny Cassidy, John Mateer and Alan Wearne; fiction writers Brian Castro, Alexis Wright, Gerald Murnane, Lisa Gorton, Beverley Farmer, Luke Carman, Michael Mohammed Ahmad, Tom Cho and Felicity Castagna; and writers of non-fiction Fiona Wright, Vanessa Berry, Evelyn Juers, David Walker, John Hughes, Martin Edmond and Robert Gray.

All our books are designed by the award-winning Australian designer Harry Williamson.

Since March 2005, HEAT magazine and the Giramondo imprint have been published from the Writing & Society Research Centre at Western Sydney University, which brings together writers, publishers, scholars and students concerned with the social and imaginative power of good writing.

The Giramondo Publishing Company enjoys support from the Western Sydney University and the Literature Fund of the Australia Council.

Two_Stack_Colour_RGB_cropped  Australia_Council_master_horiz_mono_logo copy