Your basket is empty.

Announcing the 2022 Novel Prize shortlist

Giramondo Publishing, Fitzcarraldo Editions and New Directions are pleased to announce the shortlist for The Novel Prize, the biennial award for a book-length work of literary fiction written in English by published and unpublished writers around the world.

Read more

Shaun Prescott: a note on The Town

Six years after it was first published, Shaun Prescott reflects on his debut novel The Town, released in a new edition in February 2023 with Giramondo. Prescott’s second novel, Bon and Lesley, was published in 2022.

Read more

Antigone Kefala wins 2022 Patrick White Literary Award

‘I am full of admiration for Patrick White, and for the encouragement he has given to Australian writers. I met him several times and liked him. I am very honoured to receive this prestigious award given in his name, and the recognition it offers, as for a long time my writing has existed outside the major lines of Australian literature.’

Read more

Imants Tillers: a note on Credo

‘Just as “quotation” and “appropriation” are fundamental tenets of my work, so too is “repetition”. Also, as Mallarmé once declared: “All the Great masters, ancient and modern, plagiarized Homer, and Homer plagiarized God.”‘

Read more