The Novel Prize

Entries to Giramondo Publishing for The Novel Prize are now closed. A shortlist will be announced in late 2020.

Giramondo Publishing, Fitzcarraldo Editions and New Directions are pleased to present The Novel Prize, a new biennial award for a book-length work of literary fiction written in English by published and unpublished writers around the world.

The Novel Prize offers US$10,000 to the winner in the form of an advance against royalties, and simultaneous publication of their novel in Australia and New Zealand by Giramondo Publishing, in the UK and Ireland by the London-based Fitzcarraldo Editions, and in North America by New York’s New Directions. The judges will be looking for novels which explore and expand the possibilities of the form, and are innovative and imaginative in style.

The Novel Prize will be managed by the three publishers working in collaboration. Submissions are open from 1 April to 1 July 2020, with Giramondo Publishing reading submissions from Asia and Australasia, Fitzcarraldo Editions from Africa and Europe, and New Directions from the Americas. A shortlist will be made public in December 2020, and the winner will be announced in February 2021. The winning novel will be published in early 2022.

For press enquiries, please contact

For writers from outside Australia and Australasia, please visit

Terms and Conditions

Please read these eligibility and entry rules carefully before submitting. Submission of an entry is taken as acceptance of the entry rules. For any queries not covered below, please contact

  1. The competition is open to published and unpublished writers around the world. Writers based in Asia and Australasia should submit to Giramondo Publishing. Writers based in Africa and Europe should submit to Fitzcarraldo Editions; writers based in the Americas should submit via New Directions. For more information please visit
    2. Entrants residing in Asia and Australasia (including Australia, New Zealand, Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia) should submit a full manuscript of their novel (minimum 30,000 words) to Giramondo Publishing via Giramondo’s Submittable portal. The manuscript should be double-spaced, 12pt, and include page numbers.
    3. Each submission should include a cover letter including a biographical note, contact details and brief outline of the novel.
    4. Only submissions received by midnight on the night of 1 July 2020 (Sydney time, GMT+10) will be considered.
    5. Entries that are incomplete, corrupted or submitted after the deadline will not be considered.
    6. The entry must be the entrant’s own original creation and must not infringe upon the right or copyright of any person or entity.
    7. Co-authored entries will not be accepted.
    8. Writers who have existing contracts, or who have previously held contracts, with publishers for books of fiction, non-fiction or poetry are eligible to enter.
    9. Writers who have published writing (fiction, non-fiction or poetry) in magazines and journals are eligible to enter.
    10. Writers may submit only one proposal for this round of the prize.
    11. The novel must be written in English (no translations).
    12. Submissions may be made by the author of the novel or (if they have one) their agent.
    13. There are no age restrictions, and we welcome submissions from writers of all backgrounds.
    14. Submissions made from Giramondo Publishing from writers residing outside of Asia and Australasia will not be considered.
    15. The novel must be original and should not have been previously published anywhere in full, either online, or in any printed, publicly accessible form.
    16. A shortlist of up to six novels decided on by all three publishers will be announced in December 2020. The winner will be announced in February 2021, and published in early 2022.
    17. Giramondo Publishing, Fitzcarraldo Editions and New Directions reserve the right to organise a meeting or phone call with all shortlisted writers to discuss their novel before the award of the prize.
    18. Unsuccessful entrants will not be contacted.
    19. No editorial feedback will be provided to unsuccessful entrants.
    20. The decision of the judges is final and no correspondence will be entered into regarding the judging process.
    21. Giramondo Publishing, Fitzcarraldo Editions and New Directions will have the exclusive world rights to publish the winning novel.
    22. Giramondo Publishing, Fitzcarraldo Editions and New Directions reserve the right not to award the prize this year. The publishers also reserve the right to make multiple offers of publication in addition to that made to the prizewinner.
    23. Only submissions which meet all the Terms and Conditions will be considered.
    24. By entering this competition, each entrant agrees to be bound by these Terms and Conditions.