Your basket is empty.

Open Sesame

128 pages
Paperback, 21 x 14.8 cm
Published July 2012
ISBN 9781920882846

Open Sesame

Michael Farrell

Michael Farrell is highly regarded for the unique rhythms and the gestural and comic qualities of his poetry. His poems set language, syntax and punctuation in motion, heightening the expression of wonder, drama, attitude: or simply relishing the richness and resonance of each new word situation. His new collection, open sesame, includes sonnets derived from Edna St Vincent Millay (‘saints & or’) and from the British police drama The Bill, a sestina on John F. Kennedy set in a laundry, an improvised parody (‘et tu supermarket’), an Oulipo poem (‘debit of a pirate kino’), and four long poems on friendship. The book concludes with a series of collage poems, including one which takes its cue from the legendary Phar Lap. An earlier version of open sesame won the Barrett Reid award for a radical poetry manuscript.

Michael Farrell’s previous collections include living at the z, ode ode, BREAK ME OUCH, a raiders guide (published by Giramondo in 2008), thempark and thou sand. He co-edited the anthology Out of the Box: Contemporary Australian Gay and Lesbian Poets, and has published reviews and essays on poetry. He is the winner of the 2012 Peter Porter Poetry Prize.

The playfulness is thoughtful, intellectually serious and absolute. This poetry can be unsettling, and its abstract music is passionate as well as parodic. Farrell’s fractured narratives seem to settle in the reader’s mind where they become a form of pure lyricism.Barrett Reid Prize Citation

About the Author

Michael Farrell

Michael Farrell’s previous collections published by Giramondo include a raiders guide (2008); open sesame (2011), shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Award for Poetry; Cocky’s Joy (2015), shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Award for Poetry; and I Love Poetry, which won the 2018 Queensland Literary Award for Poetry and was shortlisted for the 2019 NSW Premier’s Literary Award. His latest collection is Googlecholia (2022).

Read more

Related News