Your basket is empty.

Brian Castro Wins Patrick White Award

We’re delighted that Brian Castro has won the Patrick White Literary Award. This award is for an author’s body of work and was founded by White with the proceeds of his Nobel Prize for Literature.

Read more

Lisa Gorton Awarded Philip Hodgins Medal

At the Mildura Writers’ Festival this year, Lisa Gorton was awarded the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal, an annual prize given to an Australian writer whose work reflects the standards and literary accomplishments that Philip Hodgins.

Read more

The Recluse Shortlisted for the Magarey Medal

We’re delighted that The Recluse, Evelyn Juers, has been shortlisted for the Magarey Medal. The prize is awarded to the female author who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject in the preceding two years.

Read more

Liquid Nitrogen Wins Victorian Prize for Literature

We’re delighted that Liquid Nitrogen by Jennifer Maiden was awarded the prize in the poetry category of the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards and also the overall prize, The Victorian Prize for Literature. You can view the judges’ report here. Read Gig Ryan’s in-depth review for the Sydney Review of Books here. Jason Steger’s coverage of […]

Read more

Three Giramondo authors shortlisted for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards

We are delighted to have three authors on the shortlist this year for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards. Fiction The Swan Book, Alexis Wright The judges described The Swan Book as: A work of metaphysical and metaphorical originality, Wright has created a world where communication flows between ghosts, animals and humans, but it’s also frighteningly […]

Read more