Your basket is empty.

Sun Music

272 pages
Paperback, 21 x 14.8 cm
Published June 2018
ISBN 9781925336887

Sun Music

New and Selected PoemsJudith Beveridge

Winner, Prime Minister's Literary Award

Sun Music brings together poems published over a thirty-year period, from Judith Beveridge’s collections The Domesticity of Giraffes, Accidental Grace, Wolf Notes and Storm and Honey. It begins with an introduction by the poet, outlining the contours of her writing, and ends with a gathering of thirty-three new poems, including the exquisite elegy which gives this collection its title. Beveridge is an exacting poet, and the form of her poems contains and intensifies their expression of emotion. Their clarity and drama, their musical language and often playful metaphors, give them an immediate appeal. This is poetry of wonder and enchantment, compassionate in its identification with the ungainly and the vulnerable, the simple and the poor, and insistent in its emphasis on the dignity and self-possession of all that it observes.

Exquisitely wrought, imprinted with earth’s beauty as with the difficulties and injustices of life, the poems gathered in Sun Music confirm that Judith Beveridge is one of Australia’s truly great and enduring poets.Peter Boyle

Intoxicatingly wild and associative, yet honed and tempered by Beveridge’s singular craftsmanship, Sun Music offers us the rarest of pleasures: a ‘clear elaborated nectar’ that sings.Sarah Holland-Batt

About the Author

Judith Beveridge

Judith Beveridge is the author of seven previous collections of poetry, most recently Sun Music: New and Selected Poems, which won the 2019 Prime Minister’s Prize for Poetry. Many of her books have won or been shortlisted for major prizes, and her poems widely studied in schools and universities. She is a recipient of the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal and the Christopher Brennan Award for lifetime achievement. Her new collection Tintinnabulum will be released in July 2024.

Read more



Related News