Your basket is empty.

Anne de Marcken

Anne de Marcken

Anne de Marcken is an interdisciplinary writer, artist and publisher. She is author of The Accident: An Account (Spuyten Duyvil, 2020). Her second book, It Lasts Forever and Then It’s Over, was the joint winner of The Novel Prize in 2022, and was published in 2024 by Giramondo Publishing, New Directions and Fitzcarraldo Editions. She has received award recognition across disciplines, including fellowships from Artist Trust, Millay Colony for the Arts, the Jentel Foundation and Centrum. She lives on the unceded land of the Coast Salish people in Olympia, Washington, where she works as editor and publisher of the small, innovative press The 3rd Thing.


It Lasts Forever and Then It’s Over

Anne de Marcken

128 pages
Paperback, 21 x 14.8 cm
Published March 2024
ISBN 9781923106000

The heroine of this haunting, spare novel is voraciously alive in the afterlife. She heads west and into mind-boggling adventures, carrying a dead but laconically opinionated crow in her chest. Joint winner of the 2022 Novel Prize, It Lasts Forever and Then It’s Over is one of the sharpest and funniest novels of recent years, a tale for our dispossessed times.