Mouth to Mouth

Wohlfarht and Lehmkuhl



Mouth to Mouth had its origins in the Translation Workshop held at the Berlin Poesiefestival in June 2003, when ten German-speaking poets and ten Australian poets met over three days to translate each other’s poems.

The selection has been expanded to include the work of fifteen poets from Germany, Switzerland and Austria, Thomas Kling, Kathrin Schmidt, Peter Waterhouse, Kerstin Hensel, Ulf Stolterfoht, Joachim Sartorius, Ursula Krechel, Marcel Beyer, Ulrike Draesner, Nico Bleutge, Sabine Scho, Raphael Urweider, Sabine Naef, Uwe Kolbe and Anja Utler. The translators are Australian poets Luke Davies, Dorothy Porter, Robert Gray, Judith Beveridge, Anthony Lawrence, Gig Ryan, Antigone Kefala, Samuel Wagan Watson, Joanne Burns and Peter Skrzynecki, as well as the European poet-translators Michael Hofmann, Andrew Duncan, Richard Dove, Andrew Shields and Tony Frazer.


Print ISBN : 1-920882-03-0
pp : 272pp
Published : June 2004


About the Author

Thomas Wohlfarht and Tobias Lehmkubl are the editors of the poetry collection, Mouth to Mouth: Contemporary German Poetry in Translation. The fact that the translators are themselves poets of distinction ensures that Mouth to Mouth can be read as a testament, both to the vitality of the poetry being written in German today, and to the art of poetic translation.